We’re a diverse, statewide coalition of advocates and organizations…

with a proven record of creating affordable housing, fighting homelessness, defending tenants’ rights, and advancing racial justice. We are unifying our energy and influence in order to achieve bold, structural change to create the future we all want for California–one where everyone can afford a home and homelessness is nonexistent.

Graphic illustration of the state of California with yellow dots filling the outline and the outlines of three people to the right.


With the leadership of Housing California and California Housing Partnership, we work toward our goals by centering racial equity and drawing on the expertise of a growing group of partners across our state.

Our Founders

In Partnership With

Housing Californial logo

Housing California

Housing California is one of the state’s largest nonprofit housing and homelessness advocacy organizations—dedicated to improving life within our golden state. Housing CA opens minds and organizes people most impacted by housing injustice and their allies to effectively advance equitable solutions grounded in social and economic policy research.

California Housing Partnership logo

California Housing Partnership

A statewide “do-and-think tank,” the Partnership provides expert financial and policy solutions to nonprofit and public partners to create and preserve affordable and sustainable homes for Californians with low incomes.

In Partnership With

California Budget and Policy Center logo

California Budget & Policy Center

The Budget Center is a nonpartisan, data-driven organization that works to improve public policies affecting the economic and social well-being of Californians with low and middle incomes.

Advisory Committees

Our engaged and diverse research and policy advisory committees, alongside our racial equity task force, are guiding the evolution of the Roadmap Home.

Research Advisory Committee

Chris Benner | UC Santa Cruz

Christopher S. Elmendorf | UC Davis School of Law

Dowell Myers | Population Dynamics Research Group, USC

Elizabeth Kneebone | Terner Center for Housing Innovation, UC Berkeley

Gary Painter | Center for Social Innovation, USC

Janey Rountree | California Policy Lab, UCLA

Margot Kushel | UCSF Benioff Homelessness and Housing Initiative

Mary Cunningham | Urban Institute

Moira O’Neill | Institute for Urban and Regional Development and the Center for Law, Energy, and the Environment, UC Berkeley

Nick Marantz | UC Irvine

Paavo Monkkonen | Lewis Center for Regional Policy Studies, UCLA

Tim Thomas | Urban Displacement Project, UC Berkeley

Policy Advisory Committees

Alan Greenlee | Southern California Association of Non Profit Housing

Amie Fishman | Non-Profit Housing Association of Northern California

Anya Lawler | Western Center on Law and Poverty

Ben Metcalf | Terner Center for Housing Innovation, UC Berkeley, and Stronger Foundations

Bill Pickel | Brilliant Corners | Brilliant Corners

Brian Augusta | California Rural Legal Assistance Foundation

Carolyn Coleman | League of California Cities

Chris Hoene | California Budget & Policy Center

Chris Ko | United Way of Greater Los Angeles

Christina Livingston | Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment Institute

Cynthia Nagendra | UCSF Benioff Homelessness and Housing Initiative

Doug Shoemaker | Mercy Housing California

Francisco Dueñas | Housing NOW!

Janice Jensen | Habitat for Humanity

Jen Loving | Destination Home

Jennifer Martinez | PICO California

Justine Marcus | Enterprise Community Partners

Karthick Ramakrishnan | Center for Social Innovation, UC Riverside

Marina Wiant | California Housing Consortium

Meghan Rose | Leading Age California

Micah Weinberg | California Forward

Monique King-Viehland | Urban Institute

Nan Roman | National Alliance to End Homelessness

Navneet Grewal | Disability Rights California

Pablo Bravo | Dignity Health

Rob Wiener | California Coalition for Rural Housing

Sam Tepperman-Gelfant | Public Advocates

Sharon Rapport | Corporation for Supportive Housing

Steve Russell | San Diego Housing Federation

Tom Collishaw | Self-Help Enterprises

Tomiquia Moss | All Home

Verna Ekpeduma | Residents United Network

Zella Knight | Residents United Network